NexusFi: Find Your Edge


Home Menu

 





Multicharts with .Net


Discussion in MultiCharts

Updated
      Top Posters
    1. looks_one Jura with 24 posts (21 thanks)
    2. looks_two TonyB with 12 posts (4 thanks)
    3. looks_3 Bimi with 9 posts (14 thanks)
    4. looks_4 tx413 with 9 posts (29 thanks)
      Best Posters
    1. looks_one tx413 with 3.2 thanks per post
    2. looks_two Bimi with 1.6 thanks per post
    3. looks_3 Jura with 0.9 thanks per post
    4. looks_4 andrewtrader with 0.9 thanks per post
    1. trending_up 70,888 views
    2. thumb_up 102 thanks given
    3. group 41 followers
    1. forum 141 posts
    2. attach_file 2 attachments




 
Search this Thread
  #91 (permalink)
 
Jura's Avatar
 Jura   is a Vendor
 
Posts: 775 since Apr 2010
Thanks Given: 2,352
Thanks Received: 690


patbateman View Post
It looks like that Multicharts .NET does not allow data import for the trial versions. Am I wrong?

I think some other issue is causing this, since I never had issues importing data in the trail versions for MultiCharts or MultiCharts .NET. Have you checked it with the steps listed in the importing data wiki article?

Reply With Quote

Can you help answer these questions
from other members on NexusFi?
STRATEGY on MC crossEMA
The Elite Circle
What You Know vs How much you know about it
Traders Hideout
Elite Trader Funding, Avoid?
Trading Reviews and Vendors
Brendt Skorupinsky
Trading Reviews and Vendors
Help re translation of ninjascript to EL
NinjaTrader
 
  #92 (permalink)
 KhaosTrader 
San Jose
 
Experience: Intermediate
Platform: NinjaTrader, Esignal
Trading: Stocks
Posts: 107 since Jan 2012
Thanks Given: 40
Thanks Received: 21

From what I understand Multicharts is rolling out version 8.1 of the multicharts.net in the next couple weeks...

Reply With Quote
  #93 (permalink)
 
atata's Avatar
 atata 
Calgary, AB
 
Experience: Intermediate
Platform: NT, IB, TOS, MC
Broker: IB, Rithmic
Trading: CL, ES, GC, ZS, ZB
Posts: 116 since Mar 2010
Thanks Given: 90
Thanks Received: 99


1/ Time and sale or T&S. This is biggy for me and I am keep getting the same very, very, very annoying answer... like they will never want to implement this feature and they hope it will fade away, I don't get it...
2/ Switching time or instrument on a chart is a pain compare to NT. /especially time is great on NT/
3/ If you want to do anything with "InsideAsk" or InsideBid" forget that in replay since MC is not recording "status line" data.
4/ DOM is far from as good as NT's DOM... it is workable though especially if you are a discretionary trader and if you don't mind to place your orders and stops and targets manually.
5/ Adding instruments does requires some learning curve compare to NT.

Some good words regards to MC however:

1/ I have both MC and NT. I find MC charting more "polished" compare to NT.
2/ IB connector is written smarter by MC than NT guys. Faster no annoying IB messages...
3/ 64 bit is rock solid - well so is NT 7 64 bit - however I've found the workspace management more convenient using MC and also many, many chart windows can be open and do stuff in the same time on a few workspaces using an i5 Dell laptop with 6GB memory which is not a really high end workstation.
4/ Support is great!!! they connect remotely even if almost no need for it and if you have a coding question they will look at as well.

Summary, I am using mostly NT for trading however just to keep my MC platform well oiled I also run some of my things on MC.

Hope it helps someone...

atata

Reply With Quote
  #94 (permalink)
 
bnichols's Avatar
 bnichols 
Dartmouth NS
 
Experience: Intermediate
Platform: MC, MC.Net, NT, TWS
Broker: IB / IQFeed / Kids
Trading: Forex, stocks
Posts: 637 since Feb 2010
Thanks Given: 64
Thanks Received: 460


atata View Post
1/ Time and sale or T&S. This is biggy for me and I am keep getting the same very, very, very annoying answer... like they will never want to implement this feature and they hope it will fade away, I don't get it...
2/ Switching time or instrument on a chart is a pain compare to NT. /especially time is great on NT/
3/ If you want to do anything with "InsideAsk" or InsideBid" forget that in replay since MC is not recording "status line" data.
4/ DOM is far from as good as NT's DOM... it is workable though especially if you are a discretionary trader and if you don't mind to place your orders and stops and targets manually.
5/ Adding instruments does requires some learning curve compare to NT.

Some good words regards to MC however:

1/ I have both MC and NT. I find MC charting more "polished" compare to NT.
2/ IB connector is written smarter by MC than NT guys. Faster no annoying IB messages...
3/ 64 bit is rock solid - well so is NT 7 64 bit - however I've found the workspace management more convenient using MC and also many, many chart windows can be open and do stuff in the same time on a few workspaces using an i5 Dell laptop with 6GB memory which is not a really high end workstation.
4/ Support is great!!! they connect remotely even if almost no need for it and if you have a coding question they will look at as well.

Summary, I am using mostly NT for trading however just to keep my MC platform well oiled I also run some of my things on MC.

Hope it helps someone...

atata

1. Is this MC or MC.Net (or both)
2. If MC, which version?

Thanks
new MC/.Net user

Visit my NexusFi Trade Journal Reply With Quote
  #95 (permalink)
 KhaosTrader 
San Jose
 
Experience: Intermediate
Platform: NinjaTrader, Esignal
Trading: Stocks
Posts: 107 since Jan 2012
Thanks Given: 40
Thanks Received: 21

I agree I am so frustrated they dont offer Time and Sales, its amazing its not supported.

Reply With Quote
  #96 (permalink)
 
bnichols's Avatar
 bnichols 
Dartmouth NS
 
Experience: Intermediate
Platform: MC, MC.Net, NT, TWS
Broker: IB / IQFeed / Kids
Trading: Forex, stocks
Posts: 637 since Feb 2010
Thanks Given: 64
Thanks Received: 460


KhaosTrader View Post
I agree I am so frustrated they dont offer Time and Sales, its amazing its not supported.

In the past I've compensated for deficiencies in one platform (e.g. NT) by adding a feature from another (e.g., TWS) to compensate. Never found 1 platform to be 100%.

Visit my NexusFi Trade Journal Reply With Quote
  #97 (permalink)
Bimi
London
 
Posts: 118 since Mar 2010
Thanks Given: 42
Thanks Received: 58

if you look carefully, the TWS T&S is not 100% sync'd with the the TWS chart.

Reply With Quote
  #98 (permalink)
 
Jura's Avatar
 Jura   is a Vendor
 
Posts: 775 since Apr 2010
Thanks Given: 2,352
Thanks Received: 690


avfx View Post
edit: there's also problem atleast with 32 bit MC.NET that LMAX historical download (of over 5 months of eur/usd) can end up trashing the process memory. If you are going to use low res (lower than 1 min) data with lmax, just install the 64 bit MC.NET and hope it works better until this is fixed as it's quite annoying issue.

I've reported this issue on August 24th to MultiCharts Support. An hour later I received an email saying that my issue had been forwarded to the engineers. Later that day, I received another email saying that the issue might take some more time (which I already said would be okay, since it's not a critical issue).

On August 27th I received an update email from the same representative (to keep me updated), and on August 30th I received another email saying the issue had been identified and added to the fix list (within 5 business days).

MultiCharts .NET 8.1 Beta 1 was released September 25th, and the change log reads:

Quoting 
Memory leak in tsServer.exe when creating a new tick chart for a new symbol or doing a large reload for LMAX data feed.

Source.

As you can imagine, I'm very happy with how quickly this issue was identified and solved. I also liked it that I also had to send them one email and they took it from there - they were knowledgeable and I didn't have to "prove" to them there might be an issue here. They just looked into it.

I also know, from past experience working with MultiCharts Support, that I've could asked for a hotfix after the issue was identified. I didn't do that since this issue was not that critical and there's no point in wasting their time on something that's not critical to me.

I thought I should share my experience here because most of the time these things aren't observable from the outside, like for example, the lack of a T&S is.

Disclaimer: I wasn't asked to report my experience here by MultiCharts and don't have any financial incentive to do so. I just thought they should also get some recognition for their great service.

Reply With Quote
Thanked by:
  #99 (permalink)
 JackR 
Washington, DC
 
Experience: Intermediate
Platform: Multicharts
Broker: InteractiveBrokers/IB
Trading: CL\EUR
Posts: 15 since Jan 2011
Thanks Given: 10
Thanks Received: 8

Jura:

I see you are a Ninja user as well as a MultiChart.Net user. As I understand it both use C# as their language of choice. How difficult would you say it will be to port an indicator (or system) between the two?

Thanks,
Jack

Reply With Quote
  #100 (permalink)
 
atata's Avatar
 atata 
Calgary, AB
 
Experience: Intermediate
Platform: NT, IB, TOS, MC
Broker: IB, Rithmic
Trading: CL, ES, GC, ZS, ZB
Posts: 116 since Mar 2010
Thanks Given: 90
Thanks Received: 99



bnichols View Post
1. Is this MC or MC.Net (or both)
2. If MC, which version?

Thanks
new MC/.Net user

I don't own the .Net version. Got the same answer today as per T&S. T&S will be implemented in the future... well no time frame specified...

atata

Reply With Quote
Thanked by:




Last Updated on June 27, 2013


© 2024 NexusFi™, s.a., All Rights Reserved.
Av Ricardo J. Alfaro, Century Tower, Panama City, Panama, Ph: +507 833-9432 (Panama and Intl), +1 888-312-3001 (USA and Canada)
All information is for educational use only and is not investment advice. There is a substantial risk of loss in trading commodity futures, stocks, options and foreign exchange products. Past performance is not indicative of future results.
About Us - Contact Us - Site Rules, Acceptable Use, and Terms and Conditions - Privacy Policy - Downloads - Top
no new posts