NexusFi: Find Your Edge


Home Menu

 





Multicharts with .Net


Discussion in MultiCharts

Updated
      Top Posters
    1. looks_one Jura with 24 posts (21 thanks)
    2. looks_two TonyB with 12 posts (4 thanks)
    3. looks_3 Bimi with 9 posts (14 thanks)
    4. looks_4 tx413 with 9 posts (29 thanks)
      Best Posters
    1. looks_one tx413 with 3.2 thanks per post
    2. looks_two Bimi with 1.6 thanks per post
    3. looks_3 Jura with 0.9 thanks per post
    4. looks_4 andrewtrader with 0.9 thanks per post
    1. trending_up 70,709 views
    2. thumb_up 102 thanks given
    3. group 41 followers
    1. forum 141 posts
    2. attach_file 2 attachments




 
Search this Thread
  #61 (permalink)
kamicrazy
New Zealand
 
Posts: 71 since Jun 2011
Thanks Given: 2
Thanks Received: 32

My server 2008 r2 boxes often have 3.5 and 4.0 installed side by side.

Reply With Quote
Thanked by:

Can you help answer these questions
from other members on NexusFi?
MC Advanced Simulated Trading.
MultiCharts
Help re translation of ninjascript to EL
NinjaTrader
Elite Trader Funding, Avoid?
Trading Reviews and Vendors
MC PL editor upgrade
MultiCharts
Quantum physics & Trading dynamics
The Elite Circle
 
Best Threads (Most Thanked)
in the last 7 days on NexusFi
ApexTraderFunding.com experience and review
74 thanks
HumbleTraders next chapter
51 thanks
Winning attitudes create winning traders
39 thanks
Just another trading journal: PA, Wyckoff & Trends
36 thanks
Topstep experience and review
33 thanks
  #62 (permalink)
 tx413 
Houston, TX
 
Experience: Intermediate
Platform: Multicharts, NinjaTrader
Broker: AMP Futures
Trading: ES
Posts: 23 since Aug 2010
Thanks Given: 42
Thanks Received: 77


Nicolas11 View Post
... Does it mean that we can not have MC .NET and Sierra Chart work on the same computer?

Nicolas

All the versions of .NET can exist side-by-side on the same computer. They're designed that way not to interfere with each other. Of course the usual Microsoft caveats apply.

Reply With Quote
  #63 (permalink)
 NetTecture 
Szczecin
 
Experience: Intermediate
Platform: Ninja, writing own now
Posts: 211 since Mar 2010



tx413 View Post
All the versions of .NET can exist side-by-side on the same computer. They're designed that way not to interfere with each other. Of course the usual Microsoft caveats apply.

To be more exact, unless you redirect it in a config file FOR AN EXE, ever application uses the runtime it was compiled against. Note that this is runtime - for example 4.5 will use the 4.0 untime as 4.5 REPLACES the 4.0 runtime. But you can have I think 1.0, 1.1, 2.0, 4.0 installed. 3.5 uses 2.0, IIRC.

Reply With Quote
  #64 (permalink)
 
TonyB's Avatar
 TonyB 
Bay Area, CA - US
 
Experience: Beginner
Platform: TOS, TS & MC
Broker: TDA & TS
Trading: Stock, Options and now Futures (ES)
Posts: 516 since Dec 2010
Thanks Given: 227
Thanks Received: 140

Thanks to some here, it is now clearly evident that .NET is more for programmer types. And while that might dissuade the likes of me, Jura and possibly others, I feel that there is another important question to ask (to see if a .NET purchase might be desirable)...

From a post I made elsewhere:

With MC EL / PL, one of the cool virtues of it has been the ability to leverage the many years of coding generated from TS gurus.

With respect to MC .NET, is there something comparable? As an example, will users of MC .NET be able to use code from let's say NT just as easily?

For those of us who are not programmers, and might not be willing or able to dedicate the time to such a learning curve, it would be very helpful to know that such access is available...
++++++

The point is... We may not need to dedicate a ton of time to learn if everything we might want to accomplish already exits (in Ninjascript, as an example), needing only minimal conversion work...

From a subsequent a post I made:

One that I know many would like to see is Market / Volume Profile. If indeed Ninjasripts can be easily ported-over to MC.NET, that would be awesome. Might the GOM Market Profile indicator be something we can expect?

Mostly just curious if MC .NET has an analogous platform that it can leverage that TS has been for the original MC...
++++++

A follow-up poster shared that such conversion would most like not be as easy or automated, but certainly doable a not all that painful...

Reply With Quote
  #65 (permalink)
 imPairsonator 
Thessaloniki, Greece
 
Experience: Beginner
Platform: QTS
Broker: IB
Trading: Equities, NQ
Posts: 166 since May 2012
Thanks Given: 104
Thanks Received: 395

So has anyone started using MC .NET actively? How are all the new C# capabilities? That DOM on the chart demo looked pretty sweet...

Also, how about a "Want your MC .NET indicator created, free?" thread?

Follow me on Twitter Reply With Quote
  #66 (permalink)
 tx413 
Houston, TX
 
Experience: Intermediate
Platform: Multicharts, NinjaTrader
Broker: AMP Futures
Trading: ES
Posts: 23 since Aug 2010
Thanks Given: 42
Thanks Received: 77


imPairsonator View Post
So has anyone started using MC .NET actively? How are all the new C# capabilities? That DOM on the chart demo looked pretty sweet...

Well, to be honest, I'm looking at something else. Even though I really like Ninja and MultiCharts .NET, the thought of re-coding all my favorite indicators and systems to work with MC .NET got me to thinking of the things that really bug me about both NT and MC.

It mostly boils down to something I learned from one of my early mentors. He said that it's always best to use the software provided and supported by your broker. That's because if something doesn't work right with orders or positions, it will get fixed very quickly or the broker gets in big trouble with the regulatory agency. You may have to pay a higher commission or spread to find the right broker / software combo, but that's life.

And that's one of the things that bugs me about NT and MC. My most active account is with MB Trading and neither software gets their orders and positions right. Both work well *most* of the time, but there's always the phantom order that hangs around and won't cancel or the fact that MC can't report a non-USD forex position correctly EVER. They know this and they don't care . And there's the fact that NT seems to move all the prior session's order history to the first bar of the session when the session changes (4pm my time). So it looks like my trades all opened and closed at 4pm. Just weird. Simple things that both of these companies could fix but they're not motivated for some reason.

So I've taken a break from them and I'm looking at OEC (openecry) as my new broker. Their software does C# and Easy Language, and the GUI looks far more modern than either NT or MC. Of course it has its quirks but I haven't found any related to orders or positions. I'm going to play with it for a few weeks and convert a few of my favorite indicators just to see how much I like it.

Reply With Quote
  #67 (permalink)
Bimi
London
 
Posts: 118 since Mar 2010
Thanks Given: 42
Thanks Received: 58


tx413 View Post
Well, to be honest, I'm looking at something else. Even though I really like Ninja and MultiCharts .NET, the thought of re-coding all my favorite indicators and systems to work with MC .NET got me to thinking of the things that really bug me about both NT and MC.

It mostly boils down to something I learned from one of my early mentors. He said that it's always best to use the software provided and supported by your broker. That's because if something doesn't work right with orders or positions, it will get fixed very quickly or the broker gets in big trouble with the regulatory agency. You may have to pay a higher commission or spread to find the right broker / software combo, but that's life.

And that's one of the things that bugs me about NT and MC. My most active account is with MB Trading and neither software gets their orders and positions right. Both work well *most* of the time, but there's always the phantom order that hangs around and won't cancel or the fact that MC can't report a non-USD forex position correctly EVER. They know this and they don't care . And there's the fact that NT seems to move all the prior session's order history to the first bar of the session when the session changes (4pm my time). So it looks like my trades all opened and closed at 4pm. Just weird. Simple things that both of these companies could fix but they're not motivated for some reason.

So I've taken a break from them and I'm looking at OEC (openecry) as my new broker. Their software does C# and Easy Language, and the GUI looks far more modern than either NT or MC. Of course it has its quirks but I haven't found any related to orders or positions. I'm going to play with it for a few weeks and convert a few of my favorite indicators just to see how much I like it.


Good luck with OEC

Reply With Quote
  #68 (permalink)
cusp
Bundeburg
 
Posts: 48 since Mar 2012
Thanks Given: 27
Thanks Received: 49

Is the free MC with .net available?

And is their an associated free data feed for forex or anything else?

Reply With Quote
  #69 (permalink)
kaywai
singapore
 
Posts: 131 since Nov 2009
Thanks Given: 11
Thanks Received: 7

I asked MC.Net's support whether it is possible fto expose an indicator to another indicator?

This is the reply I got: You cannot apply indicator to a indicator or signal. The workaround is to
create a combined study wich contains scripts of indicator 1 and indicator 2 together.

Doesn't this make it much harder to code and less flexible that Ninjatrader?

Regards

Kay Wai

Reply With Quote
  #70 (permalink)
 
Jura's Avatar
 Jura   is a Vendor
 
Posts: 775 since Apr 2010
Thanks Given: 2,352
Thanks Received: 690



kaywai View Post
I asked MC.Net's support whether it is possible fto expose an indicator to another indicator?

I'm not sure if I get you, but if an indicator has a public method, you can access it through another indicator.

For example, the indicator below, TestIndi3, calls the TheTestCalculationMethod() from the TestIndi_2 indicator in the CalcBar() method:

 
Code
using System;
using System.Drawing;
using System.Linq;
using PowerLanguage.Function;

namespace PowerLanguage.Indicator
{
	public class TestIndi3 : IndicatorObject 
    {
		public TestIndi3(object _ctx):base(_ctx){}

        private TestIndi_2 testIndi;
		
        protected override void Create() 
        {
            testIndi = new TestIndi_2(this);
		}

		protected override void StartCalc() { }

		protected override void CalcBar()
        {
		    testIndi.TheTestCalculationMethod();
		}
	}
}
(The code formatting is messed up, even though I pasted from Notepad inside the futures.io (formerly BMT) text box. Sorry for that)

Reply With Quote
Thanked by:




Last Updated on June 27, 2013


© 2024 NexusFi™, s.a., All Rights Reserved.
Av Ricardo J. Alfaro, Century Tower, Panama City, Panama, Ph: +507 833-9432 (Panama and Intl), +1 888-312-3001 (USA and Canada)
All information is for educational use only and is not investment advice. There is a substantial risk of loss in trading commodity futures, stocks, options and foreign exchange products. Past performance is not indicative of future results.
About Us - Contact Us - Site Rules, Acceptable Use, and Terms and Conditions - Privacy Policy - Downloads - Top
no new posts