NexusFi: Find Your Edge


Home Menu

 





Multicharts with .Net


Discussion in MultiCharts

Updated
      Top Posters
    1. looks_one Jura with 24 posts (21 thanks)
    2. looks_two TonyB with 12 posts (4 thanks)
    3. looks_3 Bimi with 9 posts (14 thanks)
    4. looks_4 tx413 with 9 posts (29 thanks)
      Best Posters
    1. looks_one tx413 with 3.2 thanks per post
    2. looks_two Bimi with 1.6 thanks per post
    3. looks_3 Jura with 0.9 thanks per post
    4. looks_4 andrewtrader with 0.9 thanks per post
    1. trending_up 70,709 views
    2. thumb_up 102 thanks given
    3. group 41 followers
    1. forum 141 posts
    2. attach_file 2 attachments




 
Search this Thread
  #71 (permalink)
kaywai
singapore
 
Posts: 131 since Nov 2009
Thanks Given: 11
Thanks Received: 7

Hi Jura,

The purpose of the question which I posed to MultiChart's support was to check for similarities with NT7. As you know, with NT7, you can expose an indicator's signal to another indicator / strategy. This makes it a lot simpler for my purpose anyway, to create an indicator. If Multicharts tell me that my indicator needs to be combined together as one, then I would have some problems migrating to Multicharts. And it would result in a re-write of my code and endless hours of researching how to write such a code.

Kay Wai

Reply With Quote

Can you help answer these questions
from other members on NexusFi?
tick data interval discrepancy
NinjaTrader
What You Know vs How much you know about it
Traders Hideout
Brendt Skorupinsky
Trading Reviews and Vendors
MC Advanced Simulated Trading.
MultiCharts
Forcing plots to disappear/reappear?
NinjaTrader
 
Best Threads (Most Thanked)
in the last 7 days on NexusFi
ApexTraderFunding.com experience and review
74 thanks
HumbleTraders next chapter
51 thanks
Winning attitudes create winning traders
39 thanks
Just another trading journal: PA, Wyckoff & Trends
36 thanks
Topstep experience and review
33 thanks
  #72 (permalink)
avfx
Helsinki Finland
 
Posts: 7 since Jul 2012
Thanks Given: 0
Thanks Received: 2


cusp View Post
Is the free MC with .net available?

And is their an associated free data feed for forex or anything else?

I have the 30 day trial downloaded direct from MC. Prior to this I had opened a demo account at LMAX but didn't get around to using it. Then I just tested it with MC.NET and it worked without any further hoops. LMAX offers MultiCharts but I don't know how well things work between lmax and MC if there's mysterious bugs.

I've been demo trading with this setup few times and there indeed is problems with positions atleast on this demo. Eg. on reversal if I had 10 long and went 10 short I may end up with 9 short but later it goes back to 10 when reversed again. Also it seems I have some fractional ghost position hanging about I can't close in MC. With LMAX I think it's 60$ per month for MC unless you have existing MC license.

edit: there's also problem atleast with 32 bit MC.NET that LMAX historical download (of over 5 months of eur/usd) can end up trashing the process memory. If you are going to use low res (lower than 1 min) data with lmax, just install the 64 bit MC.NET and hope it works better until this is fixed as it's quite annoying issue.

If anyone knows any other quick to set up free feeds usable with MC let me know.

Reply With Quote
  #73 (permalink)
 
Jura's Avatar
 Jura   is a Vendor
 
Posts: 775 since Apr 2010
Thanks Given: 2,352
Thanks Received: 690



avfx View Post
edit: there's also problem atleast with 32 bit MC.NET that LMAX historical download (of over 5 months of eur/usd) can end up trashing the process memory. If you are going to use low res (lower than 1 min) data with lmax, just install the 64 bit MC.NET and hope it works better until this is fixed as it's quite annoying issue.

That's true, I have the same issue.


avfx View Post
If anyone knows any other quick to set up free feeds usable with MC let me know.

See their site: https://www.multicharts.com/market-data-feeds/

MB Trading demo accounts with data feed are non-expiring, CQG 30 days I believe, ZenFire around the same amount of time I think, IQFeed 7 days. Don't take my word for it though - just look up the feeds on that webpage.

Reply With Quote
Thanked by:
  #74 (permalink)
 Traderji 
Australia
 
Experience: Advanced
Platform: NinjaTrader, Multicharts
Trading: Spot Forex, Gold, Silver
Posts: 176 since Oct 2010
Thanks Given: 114
Thanks Received: 114


Jura View Post
That's true, I have the same issue.


Does it work better with 64bit MC.net? Any reply from MC support?

Reply With Quote
  #75 (permalink)
 
Jura's Avatar
 Jura   is a Vendor
 
Posts: 775 since Apr 2010
Thanks Given: 2,352
Thanks Received: 690


Traderji View Post
Does it work better with 64bit MC.net? Any reply from MC support?

I don't know; don't have a 64bit OS here and will update on my trading pc after I've converted my code to MC .NET.

I haven't reported it. I already had frequent contact with them the last weeks about other issues. While they are always helpful and knowledgeable, documenting and resolving technical issues is not something I want to spend frequent time on. So for now, I've rested it.

Perhaps @avfx has reported it to MC Support?

Reply With Quote
Thanked by:
  #76 (permalink)
kaywai
singapore
 
Posts: 131 since Nov 2009
Thanks Given: 11
Thanks Received: 7

An update on info i got from mc.net's support. They suggest that for an automated strategy, it is advisable to combine strategy and indicator in one script, unlike NT7 where script for strategy and indicator are separate. Which is the best way forward? Happy to hear opinions. I guess in a way, that would decide whether to go with NT7 or Mc.Net

Kay Wai

Reply With Quote
  #77 (permalink)
 Traderji 
Australia
 
Experience: Advanced
Platform: NinjaTrader, Multicharts
Trading: Spot Forex, Gold, Silver
Posts: 176 since Oct 2010
Thanks Given: 114
Thanks Received: 114


Jura View Post
I don't know; don't have a 64bit OS here and will update on my trading pc after I've converted my code to MC .NET.


I connected my mc.net x64 to LMAX, no issues with loading historical data.

Reply With Quote
Thanked by:
  #78 (permalink)
 
TonyB's Avatar
 TonyB 
Bay Area, CA - US
 
Experience: Beginner
Platform: TOS, TS & MC
Broker: TDA & TS
Trading: Stock, Options and now Futures (ES)
Posts: 516 since Dec 2010
Thanks Given: 227
Thanks Received: 140

Thinking about getting .NET...

I apologize if I missed it here, but is anyone yet using Volume and or Market Profile? If so, I hope it's something much more robust than what we've seen on the MC EL/PL platform... Thanks much.

Reply With Quote
  #79 (permalink)
 Traderji 
Australia
 
Experience: Advanced
Platform: NinjaTrader, Multicharts
Trading: Spot Forex, Gold, Silver
Posts: 176 since Oct 2010
Thanks Given: 114
Thanks Received: 114


TonyB View Post
Thinking about getting .NET...

I apologize if I missed it here, but is anyone yet using Volume and or Market Profile? If so, I hope it's something much more robust than what we've seen on the MC EL/PL platform... Thanks much.


I think the built-in version is the same as normal Multicharts but already people are releasing free indicators that do the job. Have a look at this

MultiCharts: Trading Software for Automated Trading and [AUTOLINK]Backtesting[/AUTOLINK] • View topic - TPO

Reply With Quote
Thanked by:
  #80 (permalink)
 
Jura's Avatar
 Jura   is a Vendor
 
Posts: 775 since Apr 2010
Thanks Given: 2,352
Thanks Received: 690



TonyB View Post
I apologize if I missed it here, but is anyone yet using Volume and or Market Profile? If so, I hope it's something much more robust than what we've seen on the MC EL/PL platform... Thanks much.

Is a TPO indicator something that you mean with 'using Volume'? I'm not aware of other indicators for MC .NET that use volume.

Reply With Quote
Thanked by:




Last Updated on June 27, 2013


© 2024 NexusFi™, s.a., All Rights Reserved.
Av Ricardo J. Alfaro, Century Tower, Panama City, Panama, Ph: +507 833-9432 (Panama and Intl), +1 888-312-3001 (USA and Canada)
All information is for educational use only and is not investment advice. There is a substantial risk of loss in trading commodity futures, stocks, options and foreign exchange products. Past performance is not indicative of future results.
About Us - Contact Us - Site Rules, Acceptable Use, and Terms and Conditions - Privacy Policy - Downloads - Top
no new posts