NexusFi: Find Your Edge


Home Menu

 





Multicharts with .Net


Discussion in MultiCharts

Updated
      Top Posters
    1. looks_one Jura with 24 posts (21 thanks)
    2. looks_two TonyB with 12 posts (4 thanks)
    3. looks_3 Bimi with 9 posts (14 thanks)
    4. looks_4 tx413 with 9 posts (29 thanks)
      Best Posters
    1. looks_one tx413 with 3.2 thanks per post
    2. looks_two Bimi with 1.6 thanks per post
    3. looks_3 Jura with 0.9 thanks per post
    4. looks_4 andrewtrader with 0.9 thanks per post
    1. trending_up 70,262 views
    2. thumb_up 102 thanks given
    3. group 41 followers
    1. forum 141 posts
    2. attach_file 2 attachments




 
Search this Thread
  #81 (permalink)
 
TonyB's Avatar
 TonyB 
Bay Area, CA - US
 
Experience: Beginner
Platform: TOS, TS & MC
Broker: TDA & TS
Trading: Stock, Options and now Futures (ES)
Posts: 516 since Dec 2010
Thanks Given: 227
Thanks Received: 140


Jura View Post
Is a TPO indicator something that you mean with 'using Volume'? I'm not aware of other indicators for MC .NET that use volume.

Damn, that looks really nice. Thank you Jura. I will need to re-read that thread more carefully when home tonight, but it looks very promising! It appears that Dru just provided an updated version that hopefully addresses some raised points... I will follow that thread closely.

While the learning curve for most is high, it does seem that the leveraging of NT can bridge that gap and yield some nice products, rather quickly. This is what I was alluding to before...

For 500 bucks this is looking better and better...

Reply With Quote

Can you help answer these questions
from other members on NexusFi?
MC PL editor upgrade
MultiCharts
Is there a way to simulate CONTINUOUS CONTRACT?
NinjaTrader
Better Renko Gaps
The Elite Circle
Has anyone taken trading from Agnieska Wood - Ahead Coach?
Psychology and Money Management
What You Know vs How much you know about it
Traders Hideout
 
Best Threads (Most Thanked)
in the last 7 days on NexusFi
ApexTraderFunding.com experience and review
111 thanks
1 Minute Man
101 thanks
In futures why does price turn so hard against you
42 thanks
GFIs1 1 DAX trade per day journal
30 thanks
Joes Trading Garage
19 thanks
  #82 (permalink)
 
patbateman's Avatar
 patbateman 
NY, NY
 
Experience: None
Platform: T4, NinjaTrader
Trading: All!
Posts: 235 since Mar 2012
Thanks Given: 113
Thanks Received: 201

Will Multicharts do "market playback" using just normal historical data and not propietary data like Ninjatrader does?

How good is Multicharts market playback? Does anyone use it for descretionary trading practice? What about the UI?

"A Jedi's strength flows from the force."
-Yoda
Reply With Quote
  #83 (permalink)
Bimi
London
 
Posts: 118 since Mar 2010
Thanks Given: 42
Thanks Received: 58



patbateman View Post
Will Multicharts do "market playback" using just normal historical data and not propietary data like Ninjatrader does?

How good is Multicharts market playback? Does anyone use it for descretionary trading practice? What about the UI?

on a scale of 1 to 10, I would rate the MultiCharts playback 6.5 to 7.

It plays data you have saved in the computer:

1. in ONE minute+ increments on time-based charts (eg minute chart)
2. it can play one bar resolution on non time-based charts
3. it can play multi and mixed charts simultaneously. eg. a 1 min chart and a 100 tick chart synchronized

it does not playback in tick level
it does not playback bid/ask

Reply With Quote
  #84 (permalink)
 
patbateman's Avatar
 patbateman 
NY, NY
 
Experience: None
Platform: T4, NinjaTrader
Trading: All!
Posts: 235 since Mar 2012
Thanks Given: 113
Thanks Received: 201


Bimi View Post
on a scale of 1 to 10, I would rate the MultiCharts playback 6.5 to 7.

It plays data you have saved in the computer:

1. in ONE minute+ increments on time-based charts (eg minute chart)
2. it can play one bar resolution on non time-based charts
3. it can play multi and mixed charts simultaneously. eg. a 1 min chart and a 100 tick chart synchronized

it does not playback in tick level
it does not playback bid/ask

I like your avatar

This is good enough for me. Does it do historical data?

If anyone wants to skype or teach me how to use it, just send me a PM. I downloaded MultiCharts .net, and I'm trying to get the replay to work. I can't import ASCII data because it's grey - I have not figured that out yet. I also think MultiCharts.net is geared towards futures, and I'd like to replay the forex.

I have plenty of standardized data, and I also have minute version compressed from BBG.

"A Jedi's strength flows from the force."
-Yoda
Reply With Quote
  #85 (permalink)
 imPairsonator 
Thessaloniki, Greece
 
Experience: Beginner
Platform: QTS
Broker: IB
Trading: Equities, NQ
Posts: 166 since May 2012
Thanks Given: 104
Thanks Received: 395


patbateman View Post
I like your avatar

This is good enough for me. Does it do historical data?

If anyone wants to skype or teach me how to use it, just send me a PM. I downloaded MultiCharts .net, and I'm trying to get the replay to work. I can't import ASCII data because it's grey - I have not figured that out yet. I also think MultiCharts.net is geared towards futures, and I'd like to replay the forex.

I have plenty of standardized data, and I also have minute version compressed from BBG.

You should be able to add ASCII data...go to the quote manager, Instrument -> add symbol -> manually. After you've added it, right click it -> import data -> ASCII.

Follow me on Twitter Reply With Quote
Thanked by:
  #86 (permalink)
 
ITM Trader's Avatar
 ITM Trader 
Olympia, WA
 
Experience: Advanced
Platform: Ninja Trader
Broker: Interactive Brokers/IQFeed
Trading: YM, CL, Stocks
Posts: 9 since Apr 2011
Thanks Given: 7
Thanks Received: 26


Bimi View Post
on a scale of 1 to 10, I would rate the MultiCharts playback 6.5 to 7.

It plays data you have saved in the computer:

1. in ONE minute+ increments on time-based charts (eg minute chart)
2. it can play one bar resolution on non time-based charts
3. it can play multi and mixed charts simultaneously. eg. a 1 min chart and a 100 tick chart synchronized

it does not playback in tick level
it does not playback bid/ask

I've been browsing threads searching for a better replacement for my RT trading platform. I've been leaning towards MultiChart for the very reason it says it can do Tick by Tick repaly.

From MC website:

"We are confident that our trading software has the best market playback in the industry. In addition to all features that other charting software offer, MultiCharts .NET allows tick-by-tick replay. In essence, this recreates a complete real-time market picture."

So just curious if you are aware of somthing I'm not?

Plan Your Trade & Trade Your Plan
Reply With Quote
  #87 (permalink)
 NetTecture 
Szczecin
 
Experience: Intermediate
Platform: Ninja, writing own now
Posts: 211 since Mar 2010


the edge View Post
I've been browsing threads searching for a better replacement for my RT trading platform. I've been leaning towards MultiChart for the very reason it says it can do Tick by Tick repaly.

From MC website:

"We are confident that our trading software has the best market playback in the industry. In addition to all features that other charting software offer, MultiCharts .NET allows tick-by-tick replay. In essence, this recreates a complete real-time market picture."

So just curious if you are aware of somthing I'm not?

Same here. A non tick by tick playback is extremely bordering useless - at least when you do any analysis based on tick by tick behavior, and may it only be a final "enter now" filter (or more a : do not enter even in a signal until a VERY short term indicator says "ok, now prices rise". Plus it is very hard to get decent quotes and / or some indicators regarding market integrity (get out when bids/asks disappear).

Reply With Quote
  #88 (permalink)
 
Jura's Avatar
 Jura   is a Vendor
 
Posts: 775 since Apr 2010
Thanks Given: 2,352
Thanks Received: 690


the edge View Post
I've been browsing threads searching for a better replacement for my RT trading platform. I've been leaning towards MultiChart for the very reason it says it can do Tick by Tick repaly.

From MC website:

"We are confident that our trading software has the best market playback in the industry. In addition to all features that other charting software offer, MultiCharts .NET allows tick-by-tick replay. In essence, this recreates a complete real-time market picture."

So just curious if you are aware of somthing I'm not?


NetTecture View Post
Same here. A non tick by tick playback is extremely bordering useless - at least when you do any analysis based on tick by tick behavior, and may it only be a final "enter now" filter (or more a : do not enter even in a signal until a VERY short term indicator says "ok, now prices rise". Plus it is very hard to get decent quotes and / or some indicators regarding market integrity (get out when bids/asks disappear).

It's not true that MultiCharts doesn't offer tick-by-tick replay.

Both MultiCharts versions (regular and .NET) offer two types of replay: "as is", which replays the bars as they are on the chart and "tick by tick", which replays the data tick-by-tick. (Tick-by-tick replay is btw also possible on non-tick based charts)

With a slider the speed of this can be adjusted (for example 50 ticks per second etc). However, if there is no tick data, the "tick by tick" replay option isn't available if I recall correctly. This seems obvious, but this might explain why some people think MultiCharts doesn't have tick-by-tick replay because they don't have data of a low enough periodicity.

For example:

Reply With Quote
Thanked by:
  #89 (permalink)
 
patbateman's Avatar
 patbateman 
NY, NY
 
Experience: None
Platform: T4, NinjaTrader
Trading: All!
Posts: 235 since Mar 2012
Thanks Given: 113
Thanks Received: 201

It looks like that Multicharts .NET does not allow data import for the trial versions. Am I wrong?

"A Jedi's strength flows from the force."
-Yoda
Reply With Quote
  #90 (permalink)
 Futures Operator 
New York, NY
 
Experience: Intermediate
Platform: Sierra Chart, thinkorswim
Broker: Amp-Rithmic/TT, IB
Trading: CL, GC, NQ
Posts: 601 since Nov 2010
Thanks Given: 2,039
Thanks Received: 259



NetTecture View Post
To be more exact, unless you redirect it in a config file FOR AN EXE, ever application uses the runtime it was compiled against. Note that this is runtime - for example 4.5 will use the 4.0 untime as 4.5 REPLACES the 4.0 runtime. But you can have I think 1.0, 1.1, 2.0, 4.0 installed. 3.5 uses 2.0, IIRC.

So do the config files need to be modified to be able to run both SC and MC on the same computer, using their respective .NET versions?

Reply With Quote




Last Updated on June 27, 2013


© 2024 NexusFi™, s.a., All Rights Reserved.
Av Ricardo J. Alfaro, Century Tower, Panama City, Panama, Ph: +507 833-9432 (Panama and Intl), +1 888-312-3001 (USA and Canada)
All information is for educational use only and is not investment advice. There is a substantial risk of loss in trading commodity futures, stocks, options and foreign exchange products. Past performance is not indicative of future results.
About Us - Contact Us - Site Rules, Acceptable Use, and Terms and Conditions - Privacy Policy - Downloads - Top
no new posts