NexusFi: Find Your Edge


Home Menu

 





Like a turtle to his balcony...


Discussion in Trading Journals

Updated
      Top Posters
    1. looks_one GaryD with 1,625 posts (688 thanks)
    2. looks_two josh with 67 posts (106 thanks)
    3. looks_3 greenr with 51 posts (53 thanks)
    4. looks_4 Deucalion with 28 posts (77 thanks)
      Best Posters
    1. looks_one Deucalion with 2.8 thanks per post
    2. looks_two josh with 1.6 thanks per post
    3. looks_3 greenr with 1 thanks per post
    4. looks_4 GaryD with 0.4 thanks per post
    1. trending_up 281,869 views
    2. thumb_up 1,158 thanks given
    3. group 36 followers
    1. forum 1,905 posts
    2. attach_file 1,043 attachments




 
Search this Thread
  #711 (permalink)
 
GaryD's Avatar
 GaryD 
Orlando, Florida
 
Experience: None
Platform: shoes
Trading: happy
Posts: 6,462 since May 2011

I considered buying into K period, but don't like to positioning of CL with ES.




Done, positive 81, and would be better if my computer were working right. I had started to wonder if reducing the resources required for the trading platform would fix the issue, and may be ready to find out by next week. I got the data to load finally in SC, and am going to try out the order system after 2:30pm on ES simluated.


AND, today is the first I have traded mimicking @Private Banker's charts and it kind of freaks me out a little...

Started this thread Reply With Quote

Can you help answer these questions
from other members on NexusFi?
MC Advanced Simulated Trading.
MultiCharts
What You Know vs How much you know about it
Traders Hideout
Brendt Skorupinsky
Trading Reviews and Vendors
Elite Trader Funding, Avoid?
Trading Reviews and Vendors
Radarscreen
TradeStation
 
Best Threads (Most Thanked)
in the last 7 days on NexusFi
ApexTraderFunding.com experience and review
74 thanks
HumbleTraders next chapter
51 thanks
Winning attitudes create winning traders
39 thanks
Just another trading journal: PA, Wyckoff & Trends
36 thanks
Topstep experience and review
33 thanks
  #712 (permalink)
 
GaryD's Avatar
 GaryD 
Orlando, Florida
 
Experience: None
Platform: shoes
Trading: happy
Posts: 6,462 since May 2011

I really like this one for some reason.


Started this thread Reply With Quote
  #713 (permalink)
 greenr 
london/england
 
Experience: Advanced
Platform: Sierra charts, NinjaTrader, VK Trader
Broker: CQG, AMP, VK, Kinetick
Trading: CL/6E/TF/ES
Posts: 952 since Sep 2011
Thanks Given: 562
Thanks Received: 1,280



GaryD View Post
I considered buying into K period, but don't like to positioning of CL with ES.




Done, positive 81, and would be better if my computer were working right. I had started to wonder if reducing the resources required for the trading platform would fix the issue, and may be ready to find out by next week. I got the data to load finally in SC, and am going to try out the order system after 2:30pm on ES simluated.


AND, today is the first I have traded mimicking @Private Banker's charts and it kind of freaks me out a little...

Here is my trade of the day and the stats to go with it

Im not executing though ninja any more



White snazzy charts and colour scheme felt good today

Thanks

@Private Banker

" I will follow my rules, I will take my stops, I will be disciplined and i will work with the market....NOT AGAINST IT! Professional mind control is the key"
Reply With Quote
Thanked by:
  #714 (permalink)
 
Private Banker's Avatar
 Private Banker 
La Jolla, CA
 
Experience: Master
Platform: Sierra Chart, X_Trader Pro, OptionsCity
Broker: Advantage, Trading Technologies, OptionsCity, IQ Feed
Trading: CL, NG
Posts: 1,038 since Jul 2010
Thanks Given: 1,713
Thanks Received: 3,863


GaryD View Post
I considered buying into K period, but don't like to positioning of CL with ES.




Done, positive 81, and would be better if my computer were working right. I had started to wonder if reducing the resources required for the trading platform would fix the issue, and may be ready to find out by next week. I got the data to load finally in SC, and am going to try out the order system after 2:30pm on ES simluated.


AND, today is the first I have traded mimicking @Private Banker's charts and it kind of freaks me out a little...

Looks good! Only thing you may want to adjust is your initial balance doesn't appear to be set up correctly. For ES, it should be from 9:30AM - 10:30AM (A and B period).

Reply With Quote
Thanked by:
  #715 (permalink)
 
Silvester17's Avatar
 Silvester17 
Columbus, OH
Market Wizard
 
Experience: None
Platform: NT 8, TOS
Trading: ES
Posts: 3,603 since Aug 2009
Thanks Given: 5,139
Thanks Received: 11,527


GaryD View Post
I considered buying into K period, but don't like to positioning of CL with ES.




Done, positive 81, and would be better if my computer were working right. I had started to wonder if reducing the resources required for the trading platform would fix the issue, and may be ready to find out by next week. I got the data to load finally in SC, and am going to try out the order system after 2:30pm on ES simluated.


AND, today is the first I have traded mimicking @Private Banker's charts and it kind of freaks me out a little...


Private Banker View Post
Looks good! Only thing you may want to adjust is your initial balance doesn't appear to be set up correctly. For ES, it should be from 9:30AM - 10:30AM (A and B period).

@GaryD,

it looks like you're using just the eth session template and not a custom template (which is fine).

but if you want to display the initial balance from 9:30 - 10:30 with that session template, you'll have to adjust the period offset.


Reply With Quote
Thanked by:
  #716 (permalink)
 
GaryD's Avatar
 GaryD 
Orlando, Florida
 
Experience: None
Platform: shoes
Trading: happy
Posts: 6,462 since May 2011


Private Banker View Post
Looks good! Only thing you may want to adjust is your initial balance doesn't appear to be set up correctly. For ES, it should be from 9:30AM - 10:30AM (A and B period).


Silvester17 View Post
@GaryD,

it looks like you're using just the eth session template and not a custom template (which is fine).

but if you want to display the initial balance from 9:30 - 10:30 with that session template, you'll have to adjust the period offset.


I am not trading ES, just watching it on a single chart, and today I threw the chart template that I made recently for CL onto it without making any adjustments, so the IB was from 9-9:30am. But thanks for looking out for me there.

Started this thread Reply With Quote
  #717 (permalink)
 
GaryD's Avatar
 GaryD 
Orlando, Florida
 
Experience: None
Platform: shoes
Trading: happy
Posts: 6,462 since May 2011

Corrected to RTH ES


Started this thread Reply With Quote
  #718 (permalink)
 
GaryD's Avatar
 GaryD 
Orlando, Florida
 
Experience: None
Platform: shoes
Trading: happy
Posts: 6,462 since May 2011


greenr View Post

Im not executing though ninja any more

@Private Banker


Be careful until you have tried it for awhile. I got nearly everything to look the same after playing with it for 3 days, but today when I tried execution in sim, whole different story. I undertstand it, but did not realize how much there is to "customize" just to get it to function similar to NT.

Here are some examples;

The default chart trade setting has buy orders as green, sell orders as red. I would have thought that was what I wanted. But entered a long trade and the brackets on boths sides of it were the same color, green (BUY limit + BUY stop). Then, my entry price was also green, but would turn red if it went negative. It may sound trivial, but it is enough to cause visual discomfort of not being completely sure of everything. And, while it allows me to change the colors, I still have to choose a single color for BUY stops (as far as I can tell), so I can have STOPS be red, but if I wnat to enter on one have to be prepared for that visual.

The default sound is the same for ORDER PENDING, ORDER FILLED, ORDER CANCELLED, STOP FILLED, etc. The fact that the visuals show the trade has occured, or changed, or whatever, helps, but not knowing for sure does not feel good, even in sim. I was able to copy the sound files from NT into SC, but it is not possible to get every single action to sound the same in every situation, as SC wants to assign a single sound to certain actions. I can't recall which right now, but you will see.

When I changed from simulated to live, not to take a trade, but just to see if I knew how, my account number came up in the chart trade window. That part was easy enough. But then I could not figure out how to confirm my account balance, and discovered that the only way I could find was to add a "Chart Study" that just put a number on the chart. It was the correct amount, but did not even have a title associated with it. I am so used to NT showing daily info as default.

The P&L display was shown in points by default, and I have not tried to get it to currency yet.

You have to select a box to click/release/click to modify an order if you ant it to be the same as NT. Otherwise i makes you drag the order modification. And I have not yet learned how to turn off confirmation for every order entry or chnage, except that when I click the "X" on the order line it is immediate.

"CANCEL ALL" does not flatten you. "FLATTEN" does. The former only leaves your position with no stop loss or targets.


While none of that spells deal breaker, it was the most uncomfortable part of the change so far. I am sure you know that any little thing that causes additional stress, or questioning, or confusion, or doubt, is not a good thing when in a live trade. I will keep messing with it this week, but not ready to trade live even though I have the capability.

Started this thread Reply With Quote
  #719 (permalink)
 
Silver Dragon's Avatar
 Silver Dragon 
Cincinnati Ohio
Legendary Master Data Manipulator
 
Experience: Intermediate
Platform: TastyWorks / NT
Broker: TastyWorks /NT
Trading: FX, Stocks, Options
Posts: 2,107 since Feb 2011
Thanks Given: 6,422
Thanks Received: 5,238


GaryD View Post
Be careful until you have tried it for awhile. I got nearly everything to look the same after playing with it for 3 days, but today when I tried execution in sim, whole different story. I undertstand it, but did not realize how much there is to "customize" just to get it to function similar to NT.

Here are some examples;

The default chart trade setting has buy orders as green, sell orders as red. I would have thought that was what I wanted. But entered a long trade and the brackets on boths sides of it were the same color, green (BUY limit + BUY stop). Then, my entry price was also green, but would turn red if it went negative. It may sound trivial, but it is enough to cause visual discomfort of not being completely sure of everything. And, while it allows me to change the colors, I still have to choose a single color for BUY stops (as far as I can tell), so I can have STOPS be red, but if I wnat to enter on one have to be prepared for that visual.

The default sound is the same for ORDER PENDING, ORDER FILLED, ORDER CANCELLED, STOP FILLED, etc. The fact that the visuals show the trade has occured, or changed, or whatever, helps, but not knowing for sure does not feel good, even in sim. I was able to copy the sound files from NT into SC, but it is not possible to get every single action to sound the same in every situation, as SC wants to assign a single sound to certain actions. I can't recall which right now, but you will see.

When I changed from simulated to live, not to take a trade, but just to see if I knew how, my account number came up in the chart trade window. That part was easy enough. But then I could not figure out how to confirm my account balance, and discovered that the only way I could find was to add a "Chart Study" that just put a number on the chart. It was the correct amount, but did not even have a title associated with it. I am so used to NT showing daily info as default.

The P&L display was shown in points by default, and I have not tried to get it to currency yet.

You have to select a box to click/release/click to modify an order if you ant it to be the same as NT. Otherwise i makes you drag the order modification. And I have not yet learned how to turn off confirmation for every order entry or chnage, except that when I click the "X" on the order line it is immediate.

"CANCEL ALL" does not flatten you. "FLATTEN" does. The former only leaves your position with no stop loss or targets.


While none of that spells deal breaker, it was the most uncomfortable part of the change so far. I am sure you know that any little thing that causes additional stress, or questioning, or confusion, or doubt, is not a good thing when in a live trade. I will keep messing with it this week, but not ready to trade live even though I have the capability.

Let me save you some time. It took me a day to figure out how to turn off the confirmation.

To turn off the confirmation button click on the M on the chart trader. You also have to use this to save trade configurations. This would be the same as a ATM in NT. See screenshot.

To change points to profit go to the menu Chart --> Chart Settings then click on the advanced tab. See screenshot.

I was a little freaked out about the colors as well for the trades however, after a week of using it it actually makes more sense. I think you can customize these to whatever color you want.

Robert



nosce te ipsum

You make your own opportunities in life.
Visit my NexusFi Trade Journal Reply With Quote
Thanked by:
  #720 (permalink)
 
josh's Avatar
 josh 
Georgia, US
Legendary Market Wizard
 
Experience: None
Platform: SC
Broker: Denali+Rithmic
Trading: ES, NQ, YM
Posts: 6,312 since Jan 2011
Thanks Given: 6,871
Thanks Received: 18,512



GaryD View Post
The default chart trade setting has buy orders as green, sell orders as red. I would have thought that was what I wanted. But entered a long trade and the brackets on boths sides of it were the same color, green (BUY limit + BUY stop). Then, my entry price was also green, but would turn red if it went negative. It may sound trivial, but it is enough to cause visual discomfort of not being completely sure of everything. And, while it allows me to change the colors, I still have to choose a single color for BUY stops (as far as I can tell), so I can have STOPS be red, but if I wnat to enter on one have to be prepared for that visual.

This also bothered me at first, coming from the NT world. Here is essentially the difference:

In NT, orders can be colored differently depending on whether they are entry orders, or exit orders.
In SC, each type of basic order (buy stop, sell stop, buy limit, sell limit) can be colored only one color, regardless of whether they are entry or exit orders; however, the position line can be colored different based on long/short, or based on profit/loss. Personally, I have a single line color whether I'm long or short.

It bothered me at first and it bothered me a lot. Then I got used to it, and I appreciated that a sell order is always red, and a buy order is always green. So if I'm short, I'll have a buy above my entry, and a buy below. Associating "red" with "loss" is fine, but also associating "red" with "sell" is very logical too.



GaryD View Post
But then I could not figure out how to confirm my account balance, and discovered that the only way I could find was to add a "Chart Study" that just put a number on the chart. It was the correct amount, but did not even have a title associated with it. I am so used to NT showing daily info as default.

It is displayed on the Trade->Trade Orders and Positions window. Be glad you have a broker that even shows the account balance, TT users for example, do not have access to this information on any platform

By the way, when you become a SC Spreadsheet guru (which I am not lol, but tomgilb is and has helped me), you can put cool things like this in your chart region data line, and have it automatically flatten you when conditions are met, etc:



GaryD View Post
The P&L display was shown in points by default, and I have not tried to get it to currency yet.
...
You have to select a box to click/release/click to modify an order
...
And I have not yet learned how to turn off confirmation for every order entry or chnage, except that when I click the "X" on the order line it is immediate.

I think Silver Dragon helped you with these already, and all are customizable.


GaryD View Post
"CANCEL ALL" does not flatten you. "FLATTEN" does. The former only leaves your position with no stop loss or targets.

This makes sense though, yes? Cancel cancels all working orders. Flatten closes all open positions, and cancels all working orders. If you had some positions on but wanted to redo your "ATM" strategy, you wouldn't want to have to cancel every order one-by-one; you'd want to be able to cancel them all, then put your new orders in. I do this a lot when I scale in, and want to redo my targets and stops, which NT does not allow you to do (assign an ATM strategy to an already-open order).


GaryD View Post
While none of that spells deal breaker, it was the most uncomfortable part of the change so far. I am sure you know that any little thing that causes additional stress, or questioning, or confusion, or doubt, is not a good thing when in a live trade. I will keep messing with it this week, but not ready to trade live even though I have the capability.

I agree 100% Gary. For me I spent a LOT of time in sim mode figuring out how to do what I wanted. SC's attached orders and overall trading system does much more than NT but it's also a bit more complex, so it's a bit of a tradeoff. But like everything else in this case, it's just a matter of familiarity. No need to rush it.

Reply With Quote
Thanked by:




Last Updated on August 5, 2013


© 2024 NexusFi™, s.a., All Rights Reserved.
Av Ricardo J. Alfaro, Century Tower, Panama City, Panama, Ph: +507 833-9432 (Panama and Intl), +1 888-312-3001 (USA and Canada)
All information is for educational use only and is not investment advice. There is a substantial risk of loss in trading commodity futures, stocks, options and foreign exchange products. Past performance is not indicative of future results.
About Us - Contact Us - Site Rules, Acceptable Use, and Terms and Conditions - Privacy Policy - Downloads - Top
no new posts