NexusFi: Find Your Edge


Home Menu

 





Tradervue's Greg Reinacker (CEO) - Ask Me Anything (AMA)


Discussion in Trading Reviews and Vendors

Updated
      Top Posters
    1. looks_one Tradervue with 49 posts (71 thanks)
    2. looks_two Big Mike with 44 posts (31 thanks)
    3. looks_3 learning0101 with 4 posts (1 thanks)
    4. looks_4 VinceVirgil with 2 posts (1 thanks)
      Best Posters
    1. looks_one Tradervue with 1.4 thanks per post
    2. looks_two jinhar with 1 thanks per post
    3. looks_3 Big Mike with 0.7 thanks per post
    4. looks_4 VinceVirgil with 0.5 thanks per post
    1. trending_up 35,287 views
    2. thumb_up 108 thanks given
    3. group 22 followers
    1. forum 108 posts
    2. attach_file 3 attachments




Closed Thread
 
Search this Thread

Tradervue's Greg Reinacker (CEO) - Ask Me Anything (AMA)

(login for full post details)
  #1 (permalink)
 
Big Mike's Avatar
 Big Mike 
Manta, Ecuador
Site Administrator
Swing Trader
Data Scientist & DevOps
 
Experience: Advanced
Platform: Custom solution
Broker: Collect them all
Trading: Equities, Futures & Crypto
Posts: 49,983 since Jun 2009
Thanks Given: 32,954
Thanks Received: 100,949

Greg Reinacker, the Founder and CEO of Tradervue, will be monitoring this thread so that he may answer any questions that you post here relating to Tradervue's products and services.

Please keep in mind that some customer service/technical support issues are best handled through proper channels at Tradervue.

Greg Reinacker started Tradervue in 2011 to offer active traders a tool to help them keep a journal and improve their trading performance. Tradervue also has a social aspect which optionally allows traders to share their actual trades with others. Tradervue has detailed analytics to highlight strengths and weaknesses within your trading methodology and tools designed to improve on them. You can also find a highly regarded educational webinar that Greg presented on futures.io (formerly BMT) that covers the importance of maintaining a Trade Journal.

In addition to this thread, I will also be asking Greg Reinacker to stop by on occasion for a casual webinar where he can answer questions via audio while also sharing his screen to visually demonstrate any points as needed. The date/time of those sessions will be announced here in this thread. These sessions will be limited to questions only, there is no prepared presentation. After the session ends, the recording will be posted in this thread.

You can find more on their website:
Tradervue Trading Journal - Journal, Analyze, and Share your tradesFeel free to ask any questions below and we'll do our best to get them answered.

The futures.io (formerly BMT) "AMA" (Ask Me Anything) series is by invitation only. It is part of a new program we are launching shortly called "Certified Trustworthy", something that has been months in the making. I will provide all the details of this new program as soon as it is ready for launch.

Mike

We're here to help: just ask the community or contact our Help Desk

Quick Links: Change your Username or Register as a Vendor

For the best trading education, watch our webinars
Searching for trading reviews? Review this list

Lifetime Elite Membership: Sign-up for only $149 USD
Receive exclusive offers from our Site Sponsors: Browse Offers
Report problems with the site: Using the NexusFi changelog thread
Follow me on Twitter Visit my NexusFi Trade Journal Started this thread
The following 2 users say Thank You to Big Mike for this post:

Can you help answer these questions
from other members on NexusFi?
Tradestation historical data to be used in NinjaTrader 8
Platforms and Indicators
Do 5-days or 7-days constitute a Multiweek Channel?
Currencies
Price Action Swing Pro
Traders Hideout
Optimal Futures Trading Workflow
Platforms and Indicators
Your experience with VPS Ninjamobiletrader ?
Trading Reviews and Vendors
 

(login for full post details)
  #3 (permalink)
 
Big Mike's Avatar
 Big Mike 
Manta, Ecuador
Site Administrator
Swing Trader
Data Scientist & DevOps
 
Experience: Advanced
Platform: Custom solution
Broker: Collect them all
Trading: Equities, Futures & Crypto
Posts: 49,983 since Jun 2009
Thanks Given: 32,954
Thanks Received: 100,949


Hi Greg,

Let me ask the first question

I know you originally started Tradervue primarily for equity traders, and after you did your webinar on futures.io (formerly BMT) last year you added a lot of support for futures and forex, new bar types, and etc.

Since the majority of traders on futures.io (formerly BMT) are trading futures, can you tell us if you consider Tradervue to be "100%" compatible now with futures?

Mike

We're here to help: just ask the community or contact our Help Desk

Quick Links: Change your Username or Register as a Vendor

For the best trading education, watch our webinars
Searching for trading reviews? Review this list

Lifetime Elite Membership: Sign-up for only $149 USD
Receive exclusive offers from our Site Sponsors: Browse Offers
Report problems with the site: Using the NexusFi changelog thread
Follow me on Twitter Visit my NexusFi Trade Journal Started this thread
The following user says Thank You to Big Mike for this post:
(login for full post details)
  #4 (permalink)
 
Tradervue's Avatar
 Tradervue 
Denver, CO
 
Experience: Advanced
Platform: Lightspeed, Tradervue
Trading: Stocks
Posts: 58 since May 2012
Thanks Given: 12
Thanks Received: 89


Big Mike View Post
I know you originally started Tradervue primarily for equity traders, and after you did your webinar on futures.io (formerly BMT) last year you added a lot of support for futures and forex, new bar types, and etc.

Since the majority of traders on futures.io (formerly BMT) are trading futures, can you tell us if you consider Tradervue to be "100%" compatible now with futures?

I believe it is indeed "100% compatible" with futures and forex - I'm not aware of anything that shouldn't work well.

The only thing that's not applicable is the liquidity reports - they are for equities only. One could make an argument that an analog exists for this in futures, but we don't have a way to calculate it just based on execution data.

Greg

If you have any questions about Tradervue, please send me a Private Message or use the BMT " Ask Me Anything" thread.
Follow me on Twitter
The following 3 users say Thank You to Tradervue for this post:
(login for full post details)
  #5 (permalink)
 
Big Mike's Avatar
 Big Mike 
Manta, Ecuador
Site Administrator
Swing Trader
Data Scientist & DevOps
 
Experience: Advanced
Platform: Custom solution
Broker: Collect them all
Trading: Equities, Futures & Crypto
Posts: 49,983 since Jun 2009
Thanks Given: 32,954
Thanks Received: 100,949

@Tradervue,

Greg I know you have a 'share trade' option, but do you have any reports that would show traders ranked on a ladder? For instance, ranked on a calendar month system?

Mike

We're here to help: just ask the community or contact our Help Desk

Quick Links: Change your Username or Register as a Vendor

For the best trading education, watch our webinars
Searching for trading reviews? Review this list

Lifetime Elite Membership: Sign-up for only $149 USD
Receive exclusive offers from our Site Sponsors: Browse Offers
Report problems with the site: Using the NexusFi changelog thread
Follow me on Twitter Visit my NexusFi Trade Journal Started this thread
The following user says Thank You to Big Mike for this post:
(login for full post details)
  #6 (permalink)
 
Tradervue's Avatar
 Tradervue 
Denver, CO
 
Experience: Advanced
Platform: Lightspeed, Tradervue
Trading: Stocks
Posts: 58 since May 2012
Thanks Given: 12
Thanks Received: 89


Big Mike View Post
Greg I know you have a 'share trade' option, but do you have any reports that would show traders ranked on a ladder? For instance, ranked on a calendar month system?

Not at the moment. From the beginning, the idea of sharing trades was intended to be about sharing ideas and information about a trade, without sharing sensitive (to some) financial information. By default when you share a trade, we'll share your buy and sell points, along with your net position (e.g. long or short), but leave out actual size and P&L info. So we show enough that others can understand what happened in a trade, and leave out the fact that you perhaps traded 100 contracts and made $25,000.

Here's an example ( Tradervue | NEM Trade Detail) - we can see that he got short, and scaled out in three parts. We don't really care how much size he traded.

The idea was to create a community where people are talking about trades and the educational points therein, without bragging about their P&L and what a genius they are. There are other trading communities that focus on P&L, and it's a very different vibe there.

After lots of feedback about it, we eventually added the option to share P&L if you want to.

All that said, it's an interesting idea to "rank" traders, and a related idea is to have "verified" results where we know, in some way, that they haven't been tampered with. If anyone feels very strongly about any of this, I'd love to hear your thoughts...

If you have any questions about Tradervue, please send me a Private Message or use the BMT " Ask Me Anything" thread.
Follow me on Twitter
The following 3 users say Thank You to Tradervue for this post:
(login for full post details)
  #7 (permalink)
 
Big Mike's Avatar
 Big Mike 
Manta, Ecuador
Site Administrator
Swing Trader
Data Scientist & DevOps
 
Experience: Advanced
Platform: Custom solution
Broker: Collect them all
Trading: Equities, Futures & Crypto
Posts: 49,983 since Jun 2009
Thanks Given: 32,954
Thanks Received: 100,949


Tradervue View Post
Not at the moment. From the beginning, the idea of sharing trades was intended to be about sharing ideas and information about a trade, without sharing sensitive (to some) financial information. By default when you share a trade, we'll share your buy and sell points, along with your net position (e.g. long or short), but leave out actual size and P&L info. So we show enough that others can understand what happened in a trade, and leave out the fact that you perhaps traded 100 contracts and made $25,000.

Here's an example ( Tradervue | NEM Trade Detail) - we can see that he got short, and scaled out in three parts. We don't really care how much size he traded.

The idea was to create a community where people are talking about trades and the educational points therein, without bragging about their P&L and what a genius they are. There are other trading communities that focus on P&L, and it's a very different vibe there.

After lots of feedback about it, we eventually added the option to share P&L if you want to.

All that said, it's an interesting idea to "rank" traders, and a related idea is to have "verified" results where we know, in some way, that they haven't been tampered with. If anyone feels very strongly about any of this, I'd love to hear your thoughts...

I don't care how much size someone trades, that is personal. But there is demand for a ranking system to demonstrate if someone is a good trader overall or not, ranked against their peers. Personally, I don't subscribe to the idea that someone's trading idea is only valid if they can prove they made money with it -- but most others do, especially newer traders. So something to consider perhaps for your service.

Maybe others can comment on the interest in a ranking system (without disclosing total P&L -- like perhaps listing it as "per contract")

Thx,
Mike

We're here to help: just ask the community or contact our Help Desk

Quick Links: Change your Username or Register as a Vendor

For the best trading education, watch our webinars
Searching for trading reviews? Review this list

Lifetime Elite Membership: Sign-up for only $149 USD
Receive exclusive offers from our Site Sponsors: Browse Offers
Report problems with the site: Using the NexusFi changelog thread
Follow me on Twitter Visit my NexusFi Trade Journal Started this thread
The following user says Thank You to Big Mike for this post:
(login for full post details)
  #8 (permalink)
 
VinceVirgil's Avatar
 VinceVirgil 
Toronto, Canada
 
Experience: Advanced
Platform: NT
Broker: TD Ameritrade, Dorman/Zenfire
Trading: CL,ES
Posts: 1,752 since Aug 2011
Thanks Given: 2,144
Thanks Received: 9,223

Why is paypal not available as a payment option? I prefer this method as I pay out of my Bank Account directly.

Follow me on Twitter Visit my NexusFi Trade Journal
The following user says Thank You to VinceVirgil for this post:
(login for full post details)
  #9 (permalink)
 
Tradervue's Avatar
 Tradervue 
Denver, CO
 
Experience: Advanced
Platform: Lightspeed, Tradervue
Trading: Stocks
Posts: 58 since May 2012
Thanks Given: 12
Thanks Received: 89


VinceVirgil View Post
Why is paypal not available as a payment option? I prefer this method as I pay out of my Bank Account directly.

We actually can accept Paypal...it's just not advertised on the web site as it's not fully integrated into our subscription system. It requires some manual work each time someone wants to subscribe, cancel, or change between subscription plans.

If you'd like to upgrade using Paypal, shoot us a note ( Tradervue | Contact Us) and we'll get it squared away!

Greg

If you have any questions about Tradervue, please send me a Private Message or use the BMT " Ask Me Anything" thread.
Follow me on Twitter
The following 3 users say Thank You to Tradervue for this post:
(login for full post details)
  #10 (permalink)
 
Big Mike's Avatar
 Big Mike 
Manta, Ecuador
Site Administrator
Swing Trader
Data Scientist & DevOps
 
Experience: Advanced
Platform: Custom solution
Broker: Collect them all
Trading: Equities, Futures & Crypto
Posts: 49,983 since Jun 2009
Thanks Given: 32,954
Thanks Received: 100,949


Greg,

I just thought I'd mention some other users journals on nexusfi.com (formerly BMT) that contain good statistical information. I am not very good at Excel, so if something like Tradervue were to spit these out it would be a plus for me

@indextrader7:
@AttitudeTrader:
@bnichols:
@bijeremiad:
There are countless others, but my brain is fried today and I have no energy to search for them.

Mike

We're here to help: just ask the community or contact our Help Desk

Quick Links: Change your Username or Register as a Vendor

For the best trading education, watch our webinars
Searching for trading reviews? Review this list

Lifetime Elite Membership: Sign-up for only $149 USD
Receive exclusive offers from our Site Sponsors: Browse Offers
Report problems with the site: Using the NexusFi changelog thread
Follow me on Twitter Visit my NexusFi Trade Journal Started this thread
The following 4 users say Thank You to Big Mike for this post:

Closed Thread




Last Updated on July 6, 2018


© 2023 NexusFi™, s.a., All Rights Reserved.
Av Ricardo J. Alfaro, Century Tower, Panama City, Panama, Ph: +507 833-9432 (Panama and Intl), +1 888-312-3001 (USA and Canada)
All information is for educational use only and is not investment advice. There is a substantial risk of loss in trading commodity futures, stocks, options and foreign exchange products. Past performance is not indicative of future results.
About Us - Contact Us - Site Rules, Acceptable Use, and Terms and Conditions - Privacy Policy - Downloads - Top
no new posts