NexusFi: Find Your Edge


Home Menu

 





Help with getting the simulator data feed to work


Discussion in NinjaTrader

Updated
      Top Posters
    1. looks_one shots fired with 4 posts (0 thanks)
    2. looks_two quantismo with 1 posts (0 thanks)
    3. looks_3 xiaosi with 1 posts (0 thanks)
    4. looks_4 OptimusJohn with 1 posts (1 thanks)
    1. trending_up 9,197 views
    2. thumb_up 1 thanks given
    3. group 4 followers
    1. forum 9 posts
    2. attach_file 0 attachments




 
Search this Thread
  #1 (permalink)
shots fired
Boise, Idaho
 
Posts: 71 since Feb 2013
Thanks Given: 28
Thanks Received: 10

I have a demo Ninja Trader account, and i am trying to get the simulator data feed to appear on my chart so I can practice my ATM strategies. I went to file and connected to simulator data feed. I also opened a dynamic Super dom.
The superdom is displaying data. But I want to be able to view the data on a chart. I went to data series, and opened up a
new chart for 09/13, but the data that appears on the chart is not active. It is data from Friday, and it is still data. How can I get the simulator data feed that is active in the superdom onto a chart so I can practice my ATM trading?

Reply With Quote

Can you help answer these questions
from other members on NexusFi?
Elite Trader Funding, Avoid?
Trading Reviews and Vendors
Pivot Indicator based on Level2 data
NinjaTrader
Forcing plots to disappear/reappear?
NinjaTrader
Radarscreen
TradeStation
Brendt Skorupinsky
Trading Reviews and Vendors
 
Best Threads (Most Thanked)
in the last 7 days on NexusFi
ApexTraderFunding.com experience and review
74 thanks
HumbleTraders next chapter
51 thanks
Winning attitudes create winning traders
39 thanks
Just another trading journal: PA, Wyckoff & Trends
36 thanks
Topstep experience and review
33 thanks
  #2 (permalink)
 
quantismo's Avatar
 quantismo 
Waco TX.
 
Experience: Advanced
Platform: retired ...maybe
Trading: anything with the slightest edge..
Posts: 242 since Jul 2011
Thanks Given: 335
Thanks Received: 176

Its has been a while since I used the Demo version of Ninjatrader , I bought the Lifetime liscense a few years ago but if I remember corectly the data feed that comes free with the demo will only work using a daily chart , so if your strategy is based on a smaller time frame there wont be any data for it. The ATM probly wont work without tick data thats not on a daily chart.
Its been a few years so I could be totally wrong...

Quantismo

PS There is a Ninjatrader representitive member with futures.io (formerly BMT) if you can find one of his threads you should be able to ask him ...

Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)
 tickleboy 
Seattle, Washington
 
Experience: Advanced
Platform: NinjaTrader, TradeStation
Broker: Kinetick
Trading: ES
Posts: 18 since Oct 2011
Thanks Given: 16
Thanks Received: 10


Had this issue myself. Make sure you set the Session Template to "Default 24/7". That should do the trick.

Follow me on Twitter Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)
shots fired
Boise, Idaho
 
Posts: 71 since Feb 2013
Thanks Given: 28
Thanks Received: 10

yeah, thanks. It is set to default 24/7, but it's still only populated one candle, up and down, not sideways.

Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)
 OptimusJohn 
Boca Raton, FL
 
Experience: Advanced
Platform: NinjaTrader
Broker: Optimus Futures / Rithmic
Trading: Futures
Posts: 27 since May 2013
Thanks Given: 34
Thanks Received: 38


shots fired View Post
yeah, thanks. It is set to default 24/7, but it's still only populated one candle, up and down, not sideways.

It is important to keep in mind the simulated data feed does NOT provide historical data. It essentially just posts random prices with an algorithm NinjaTrader made up. You'll also notice a slider on a floating window that allows you to point market prices up or down.

This means that it will ONLY show real-time (simulated) prices through this data feed and it will not back-fill the chart. So, if you're looking at a 5 minute chart with the simulated data feed, it will take 5 minutes for that first bar to populate and move on to the next bar. Try using a 1 minute time-frame for your chart with the simulated data feed and leave it running for a few minutes and you should see multiple bars form.

The simulated data feed is mostly used to practice order entry and messing around with ATM strategies since you can manipulate market price to go one way or the other with the slider.

Follow me on Twitter Reply With Quote
Thanked by:
  #6 (permalink)
shots fired
Boise, Idaho
 
Posts: 71 since Feb 2013
Thanks Given: 28
Thanks Received: 10

Thanks. I trade using a tick chart. I do not understand the significance of your commentsabout historical data. NT has said the same thing but I don't know what it means. I wanted to use the sim data feed to practice/learn ATM. But I have been making do with market replay for this instead.
U

Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)
 
teamtc247's Avatar
 teamtc247 
Fairburn, Georgia
 
Experience: None
Posts: 980 since Dec 2012
Thanks Given: 644
Thanks Received: 1,116

You can sign up with Kinetick and get free end of day. For 100.00 or less you can get the full blown data feed depending on what your trading preferences are.

Visit my NexusFi Trade Journal Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)
 
xiaosi's Avatar
 xiaosi 
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Market Wizard
 
Experience: Advanced
Platform: JIGSAW/SIERRA CHART
Broker: MacQuarie Futures/AMP Clearing/CQG
Trading: HHI, HSI, FDAX
Posts: 500 since Feb 2012
Thanks Given: 448
Thanks Received: 535


shots fired View Post
Thanks. I trade using a tick chart. I do not understand the significance of your commentsabout historical data. NT has said the same thing but I don't know what it means. I wanted to use the sim data feed to practice/learn ATM. But I have been making do with market replay for this instead.
U

Historical data means data that is older than one day, its the bars from yesterday, the day before etc.

How are you getting market replay data into NT?

I think the best thing is to pay for a data feed and then practice. You may even be able to get a free demo data feed if you shop around.

XS

Follow me on Twitter Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)
 asiaexpat 
Chiang Mai Thailand
 
Experience: Intermediate
Platform: NT
Broker: IB/IB, AMP/CQG
Trading: ES
Posts: 129 since Feb 2013
Thanks Given: 23
Thanks Received: 53

the kinetick data feed costs 50$ per month as long as you simultaneously connect to your broker at least once per month

Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)
shots fired
Boise, Idaho
 
Posts: 71 since Feb 2013
Thanks Given: 28
Thanks Received: 10



xiaosi View Post
Historical data means data that is older than one day, its the bars from yesterday, the day before etc.

How are you getting market replay data into NT?

I think the best thing is to pay for a data feed and then practice. You may even be able to get a free demo data feed if you shop around.

XS

I have CQG data feed with my Ninja Trader demo. I have historical data. The setting is set to automatically save historical data. So when NT staff tells me that my Simulated Data Feed isn't working because it doesn't use or have historical data, it thoroughly confuses me. I guess I am missing an essential link to understanding what they're getting at. Nevertheless, to heck with the SDF, I will just get by using the Market Replay. It's a little bit more time consuming to use MR for practicing of my ATM strategies, but it can be done.

Reply With Quote




Last Updated on July 4, 2013


© 2024 NexusFi™, s.a., All Rights Reserved.
Av Ricardo J. Alfaro, Century Tower, Panama City, Panama, Ph: +507 833-9432 (Panama and Intl), +1 888-312-3001 (USA and Canada)
All information is for educational use only and is not investment advice. There is a substantial risk of loss in trading commodity futures, stocks, options and foreign exchange products. Past performance is not indicative of future results.
About Us - Contact Us - Site Rules, Acceptable Use, and Terms and Conditions - Privacy Policy - Downloads - Top
no new posts