NexusFi: Find Your Edge


Home Menu

 





NinjaTrader's Learning Curve - Worth The Effort


Discussion in NinjaTrader

Updated
      Top Posters
    1. looks_one Alfalfa with 11 posts (3 thanks)
    2. looks_two vegasfoster with 5 posts (2 thanks)
    3. looks_3 Fat Tails with 5 posts (23 thanks)
    4. looks_4 Big Mike with 4 posts (7 thanks)
      Best Posters
    1. looks_one Fat Tails with 4.6 thanks per post
    2. looks_two Big Mike with 1.8 thanks per post
    3. looks_3 bd92154 with 1.5 thanks per post
    4. looks_4 cory with 1 thanks per post
    1. trending_up 13,386 views
    2. thumb_up 47 thanks given
    3. group 12 followers
    1. forum 40 posts
    2. attach_file 2 attachments




 
Search this Thread
  #1 (permalink)
 
Alfalfa's Avatar
 Alfalfa 
Knoxville
 
Experience: Intermediate
Platform: NinjaTrader
Broker: IB, Kinetick
Trading: Stocks
Posts: 11 since Nov 2012
Thanks Given: 15
Thanks Received: 3

NinjaTrader problems, still, after 6 months of "customer support...

Can anyone tell me of a trading platform that has features like NinjaTrader but without feed delays (Kinetick), Chart freeze-ups, unexplained trade executions & customer "service" with bad attitude. I really like Chart Trader & the idea that NT is attempting but they have a long way to go. I use Interactive Brokers.

Thanks.

Started this thread Reply With Quote

Can you help answer these questions
from other members on NexusFi?
Help re translation of ninjascript to EL
NinjaTrader
Pivot Indicator like the old SwingTemp by Big Mike
NinjaTrader
Has anyone taken The Confident Trader course from aheadc …
Trading Reviews and Vendors
Quantum physics & Trading dynamics
The Elite Circle
What You Know vs How much you know about it
Traders Hideout
 
Best Threads (Most Thanked)
in the last 7 days on NexusFi
ApexTraderFunding.com experience and review
98 thanks
HumbleTraders next chapter
56 thanks
Winning attitudes create winning traders
38 thanks
Vinny E-Mini & Algobox Review TRADE ROOM
23 thanks
Learning to Trade with the Big Money
22 thanks
  #2 (permalink)
 traderwerks   is a Vendor
 
Posts: 692 since Jun 2009
Thanks Given: 436
Thanks Received: 465


Alfalfa View Post
NinjaTrader problems, still, after 6 months of "customer support...

Can anyone tell me of a trading platform that has features like NinjaTrader but without feed delays (Kinetick), Chart freeze-ups, unexplained trade executions & customer "service" with bad attitude. I really like Chart Trader & the idea that NT is attempting but they have a long way to go. I use Interactive Brokers.

Thanks.

There are a lot of threads on Ninja here, so this may be better in another thread.

My suggestion is try running TWS on a separate machine. I use Ninja/TT everyday and , although Ninja is not perfect, I don't have these problems. A long time ago, Ninja 6 , I did run Ninja and TWS on the same machine and had problems. Putting them on two different machines, solved the problem.

Math. A gateway drug to reality.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)
 
lrfsdad's Avatar
 lrfsdad 
milwaukee,wi, usa
 
Experience: Intermediate
Platform: Mobile TWS & mobile TOS. Dough.com
Broker: IB, TOS, FXCM
Trading: futures and options. looking into forex
Posts: 186 since Nov 2012
Thanks Given: 302
Thanks Received: 161


I had the same problems, but it was because I was using an older computer. Updated and no more prob's

Visit my NexusFi Trade Journal Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)
 vegasfoster 
las vegas
 
Experience: Intermediate
Platform: Sierra Chart
Broker: Velocity/IB
Trading: 6E
Posts: 1,145 since Feb 2010
Thanks Given: 304
Thanks Received: 844

I used NT with TWS for about a year and can certify it is the worst combination ever. Toward the end I actually started using the TWS DOM for order entry and only used NT for charting. I used Sierra Chart with TWS for about 2 months and had no problems, but honestly, I would recommend getting away from IB/TWS all together for your day trading.

Reply With Quote
Thanked by:
  #5 (permalink)
 
cory's Avatar
 cory 
virginia
 
Experience: Intermediate
Platform: ninja
Trading: NQ
Posts: 6,098 since Jun 2009
Thanks Given: 877
Thanks Received: 8,090


Alfalfa View Post
NinjaTrader problems, still, after 6 months of "customer support...

Can anyone tell me of a trading platform that has features like NinjaTrader but without feed delays (Kinetick), Chart freeze-ups, unexplained trade executions & customer "service" with bad attitude. I really like Chart Trader & the idea that NT is attempting but they have a long way to go. I use Interactive Brokers.

Thanks.

Sierra Chart.

Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)
 
sam028's Avatar
 sam028 
Site Moderator
 
Posts: 3,765 since Jun 2009
Thanks Given: 3,825
Thanks Received: 4,629

Weird, I've been using Ninja and TWS, on the same machine, for years now, and don't have anything odd with this combo. And I never noticed any feed delay with Kinetick, so you may give us more details, what you're describing could only happen, in theory, if you have a bad Internet connection and/or a very slow machine.

Success requires no deodorant! (Sun Tzu)
Follow me on Twitter Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)
 
Alfalfa's Avatar
 Alfalfa 
Knoxville
 
Experience: Intermediate
Platform: NinjaTrader
Broker: IB, Kinetick
Trading: Stocks
Posts: 11 since Nov 2012
Thanks Given: 15
Thanks Received: 3

Thanks very much for the replies/suggestions and for the record, I'm not affiliated with any company nor am I a chronic complainer...just a trader trying to make a buck. I'm having a look at Sierra Chart, thanks for that suggestion. My computer is about 3 months old with 16gigs RAM, i5 3.40 GHZ processor and 8 monitors. An old (tech-neck) friend of mine helped me build it so I'm "purty" sure the system is OK. I would normally just change to another platform but as far as I can tell, NinjaTrader has a almost-great platform. So since you asked for more details Sam028, I'm gonna expound...

1) When I first start NT, it takes a long time to load "historical data" (reminds me of waiting for dial-up internet) and if I change a symbol on my main linked (multi time-frame charts) NT changes it back to the one that was there before...repeatedly. The only "cures" I've found for this are either changing the symbol (to different ones) successively until NT "seemingly" forgets the first one or restarting NT - which may start that whole game up, all over again. The slow load happens every time and the symbol-changing is intermittent.

2) I trade very short term (holding period 10 seconds to 30 minutes - depending on price movement) so I watch the 5 minute (within longer-term context of course) and I enter on the 1 minute. Sometimes in a very intense trade, one of my charts will freeze (can be 1 or 5) and while I'm sitting there thinking that traders must me really undecided and are being lulled into dojiville, the price keeps moving (usually a matter of maybe 10 to 20 seconds before I realize this but I'm getting better with practice ) & I either miss the trade or make a anger-induced emotional trade. If I drag the chart around to other windows sometimes it helps, if I change the time frame being displayed on that chart it works for a few moments but the only real cure is to restart NY - leading me back to #1 above.

3) I finally figured this one out (don't have a remedy tho') but sometimes I think I'm trading one stock but really I'm trading a different one. If you look at any NT chart (in the upper left corner) you see the symbol in white (on mine) and then above that you see the symbol again beside a icon or logo of a chart. Sometimes, after I think I've changed a symbol, (the chart changes) I'll enter a trade on the 1 minute (usually) and I'll subsequently notice in my "IB" account window that I have an order in for (or have entered a position in) the stock that had previously resided in that chart. This creates a panic situation and I usually close the trade immediately after I assess the damage. Sometimes I get lucky (and am green) but still close the trade because this feels more like a dart-toss than a strategic trade After a few times of this, I figured out that sometimes the symbol that is being displayed in the "upper" band in the upper left corner of the chart is the real symbol. So...one more thing I have to watch out for.

These are just a few of the problems I've run into with NT. They can be maddening when you are trying to trade and are lucky enough to be in the zone and suddenly they start....like a ghost in the machine.

I have spoken with (or emailed) almost every service rep at NT and most of them are (trained to be) nice but some of them seem like they are playing Angry Birds in the background & not really listening. They usually explain that it is a problem with me or my computer. I once got lucky and was helped by a rep who really knew his groceries & was able to fix several of the issues that I'd previously been told were on my end but they don't let you pick & choose which rep you get. Anyway, now my onboard NT "Mail to Support" function has screwed up (I suspect foul play & gives me a "failed to send mail" error message (which they say is a problem on my end) so I have to go thru my email provider & provide ID verification, etc.

I don't expect anyone will have any ideas for most of these issues but if so, Big Mike will have another lifetime Elite member.

Thanks

Started this thread Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)
 traderwerks   is a Vendor
 
Posts: 692 since Jun 2009
Thanks Given: 436
Thanks Received: 465


sam028 View Post
Weird, I've been using Ninja and TWS, on the same machine, for years now, and don't have anything odd with this combo. And I never noticed any feed delay with Kinetick, so you may give us more details, what you're describing could only happen, in theory, if you have a bad Internet connection and/or a very slow machine.

I would take a trial on one of Sam's virtual servers and see if you still have the problem. I have never seen a delay on Kinetick on one of his machines, and having a dedicated trading machine, that is not loaded with other software, NinjaTrader should perform better.

Math. A gateway drug to reality.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)
 vegasfoster 
las vegas
 
Experience: Intermediate
Platform: Sierra Chart
Broker: Velocity/IB
Trading: 6E
Posts: 1,145 since Feb 2010
Thanks Given: 304
Thanks Received: 844


sam028 View Post
Weird, I've been using Ninja and TWS, on the same machine, for years now, and don't have anything odd with this combo. And I never noticed any feed delay with Kinetick, so you may give us more details, what you're describing could only happen, in theory, if you have a bad Internet connection and/or a very slow machine.

That's cuz ur freakin awesome!!!

Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)
 vegasfoster 
las vegas
 
Experience: Intermediate
Platform: Sierra Chart
Broker: Velocity/IB
Trading: 6E
Posts: 1,145 since Feb 2010
Thanks Given: 304
Thanks Received: 844


Duh

Reply With Quote




Last Updated on July 25, 2013


© 2024 NexusFi™, s.a., All Rights Reserved.
Av Ricardo J. Alfaro, Century Tower, Panama City, Panama, Ph: +507 833-9432 (Panama and Intl), +1 888-312-3001 (USA and Canada)
All information is for educational use only and is not investment advice. There is a substantial risk of loss in trading commodity futures, stocks, options and foreign exchange products. Past performance is not indicative of future results.
About Us - Contact Us - Site Rules, Acceptable Use, and Terms and Conditions - Privacy Policy - Downloads - Top
no new posts